You are here: Home Events PASA Education Events

PASA Education Events

The goal of PASA’s educational programming is to empower farmers to implement farming practices that improve farm profitability and reduce the farm’s adverse environmental impact while producing safe and healthy food for the community. PASA's educational events strive to offer delicious, local meals and provide ample farmer-to-farmer networking opportunities.

Upcoming Events


Saturday, March 25
Basics of Tractor Safety and Maintenance

Saturday, April 1
FARMDATA Hands-on Training

Wednesday, April 5
Advanced Farm Management Using FarmOS

Saturday, April 8
Mushroom Cultivation Intensive

Tuesday, April 11
Fruit Tree Grafting & Pruning

Wednesday, April 12
CRAFT Small-Scale, Intensive, Perennial Fruit Production

Tuesday, April 18
History & Development of High Tunnels

Wednesday, April 26
CRAFT Propagation Practices for the Diversified Vegetable Farm

Monday, May 1
Nature Works Farm Tour, IPM Discussion, Potluck Dinner

Wednesday, May 10
CRAFT Farming with Horses

Wednesday, May 17
Fertility and Forage in the Grazing Dairy

Monday & Tuesday, June 5 & 6
Agroforestry Design Intensive

Wednesday, June 7
CRAFT On-Farm Fertilizer & Bio-Inoculant Production
(Registration coming soon)

Wednesday, June 28
CRAFT Soil Health Practices for Annual Cropping Systems
(Registration coming soon)

Wednesday, July 12
CRAFT The Start-Up Farm: Year 2
(Registration coming soon)

Friday, July 14
Getting into Edible Flowers

Wednesday, July 26
CRAFT Efficient Farm Systems
(Registration coming soon)

Saturday, July 29
Closed-Loop Systems on the Diversified Farmstead
(Registration coming soon)

Wednesday, August 9
CRAFT High Tunnel Tomatoes
(Registration coming soon)

Wednesday, August 23
CRAFT Diversified Grazing & Cover Crop Mixes
(Registration coming soon)

Check out this slideshow from past events!

Document Actions
About our events

Field days, workshops, and webinars are the backbone of Farmer-to-Farmer Exchange activities at PASA’s SOIL Institute. These events are organized to give our leading farmers a forum to share what they know, and give all farmers - both experienced and beginning - an opportunity to ask questions and sound out new ideas. Depending on speakers and topics, these events may include farm tours, classroom presentations, or hands-on learning. We strive to offer delicious, local meals at our Farmer-to-Farmer Exchange events and provide ample time for discussion and networking. PASA members enjoy discounted registration to these events, but all events are open to the general public.

Grazing Cows

In addition, to educational events, PASA also organizes potlucks and social gatherings for all our members at various times throughout the year and across the state.

We also work to promote the events of many partner food and farming organizations in Pennsylvania and neighboring states. Check our calendar often for updates!

Suggesting New Events
We're always looking for ideas and speakers for our events. If you'd like to host an event or have a suggestion, please contact Helen Kollar-McArthur, 814-349-9856 ext. 20.

Support a PASA event by contacting Helen Kollar-McArthur, 814-349-9856 ext. 20.

Access archives from 2005 - 2012.

Farm-Based Education Policies

Refunds, emergency contacts, and more.

SOIL Institute

SOIL Institute

PASA's Farmer-to-Farmer Education Events are a major part of the SOIL Institute's work. Click the logo to learn more.

Tool Shed

Buy Fresh Buy Local SOIL toolshed image